The Super League Greece (Greek: Ελληνική Σούπερ Λίγκα) or Super League Souroti for sponsorship reasons, is the highest professional football league in Greece. It was formed on 16 July 2006 and replaced Alpha Ethniki at the top of the Greek football league system. The league consists of 14 teams and runs from August to May, with teams playing 26 games each. As of August 2017, Super League Greece is ranked 14th in the UEFA ranking of leagues, based on performances in European competitions over the last five years. Since the foundation of the first official Panhellenic Championship in 1927,[2] only six clubs have won the title, with the "big three" of Greater Athens (Olympiacos, Panathinaikos and AEK Athens) dominating and only PAOK, Aris and AEL managing to break their dominance on few occasions.




Connect with us